Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer


The six Area Councils in the Federal Capital Territory and other stakeholders have received the sum of N5,425,630,867.16billion as share of statutory allocation for the month of August, 2023.

Dr. Mariya Mahmoud, the FCT Minister of State, who presided over the 181st Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC), meeting, commended members for their attendance and their invaluable contributions over the years.

She, also used the occasion to task members of the committee to be honest in presenting issues of their various Mandate Secretariats, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).

While commending the FCT Primary Health Care Board for the outstanding award of 400,000USD for human resource capacity building and infrastructure, she charged other departments to scale-up their activities to enhance service delivery.

However, a breakdown of the figures released during the JAAC meeting indicates that the sum of N3,039,461,234.33billion was made available for distribution to the six area councils, while the sum of N2,386,169,632.83billion was made available to other stakeholders, bringing the total sum to N5,425,630,867.16billion.

Similarly, distributions to the six area councils shows that the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), received N601,018,254.50million, while Gwagwalada got N498,658,814.87million and Kuje received N519,828,812.48million.

Other area councils include, Bwari Area Council which received N465,905,183.13million, Abaji got N472,976,149.11million while Kwali received N481,074,020.24million, bringing the total sum to N3,039,461,234.33billion disbursed to the six area councils.

On the other hand, distribution to other critical stakeholders include: Primary School Teachers which gulped N1,997,584,928.95billion, 15 percent Pension Funds took N226,478,989.57million, One percent Training Fund gulped N54,256,308.68million, while 10 percent Employer Pension Contribution gulped N107,849,405.63million, bringing the total sum to N2,386,169,632.83billion.

Those present at the 181st Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC) meeting include the FCTA Permanent Secretary, Mr. Olusade Adesola, represented by the Director of Operations, Planning and Strategy, Mr. Samuel Attang, Secretary Area Council Services, Hon. Bitrus Garki, and FCT representative in Revenue Mobilization, Allocation and Fiscal Commission, HE Ayuba Ngbako.

Others include the chairman Abaji Area Council, Hon. Abubakar Abdullahi, Chairman of Bwari Area Council, Hon. John Gabaya, Chairman of Abuja Municipal Area Council, Hon. Christopher Zaka, Chairman of Gwagwalada Area Councils, Hon. Abubakar Giri, amongst others.

Austine Elemue

S.A Media To FCT Minister of State

October 9, 2023.

× How can we help you? Available on SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday